Cutting for Wilkinson

Kurt Wilkinson, the Barbados batsman, was wrongly dismissed hitting the ball twice during a 2002 one-day match against Leeward Islands in Jamaica. Having played a defensive stroke into the ground, Wilkinson was given out after appeal when the ball rebounded on to the toe of his bat. Though it was true he was not protecting his wicket with the second hit, the umpire forgot the action had to be ‘wilful’.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *