It’s wrong button

The third umpire’s lights used to be green for ‘out’ and red for ‘not out’ before the system was more logically switched round. Dave Richardson, the South Africa wicketkeeper, was once wrongly adjudged run out because the third umpire pressed the wrong button during a one-day international against Pakistan in Karachi. The official apologised to Richardson afterwards, saying there was no way of cancelling his decision, even though he had quickly realised his mistake.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *